In the summer of 1881 Thomas Sinclair spent a holiday in St. Andrews, Scotland. He was totally smitten by the game of golf and persuaded the Laird of Holywood to generously give his land free of rent at Kinnegar, Holywood for a golf course.
In 1885 the club became “Royal” after the Prince of Wales was invited to become its Patron during a visit to Ireland. The current Patron is HRH Prince Andrew, Duke of York.
The present course dates back to 1925, when H.S. Colt, the eminent English course architect, assisted by Walker Cup player W.A. Murray, produced a course of great charm which provides a true test of golfi ng skill and enjoys one of the most scenic settings with its unrivalled views of Belfast Lough.
The course remains much the same today as it was then, a tribute to the enduring excellence of its original design, always meticulously maintained with impeccable greens. Visiting players are always warmly welcomed to enjoy a real slice of history.